The Blue Quill

December 10, 2007

The Meaning of Giving

Filed under: Family Life,Friendship,Holiday Stuff,Love & Relationships,Places,Seasons — Jemm Cellan @ 7:19 pm

The cool breeze gently pressed against my cheeks and I just cannot explain how good it felt. I was at the mall last Saturday with my fiance` and we had a splendid time buying Christmas gifts for our friends and families. The long Christmas list dangled down from my back pocket when I reached for my worn-out Girbaud wallet. Suddenly I felt the need to buy myself a new wallet. But if I buy a new wallet, I wont be able to buy someone a gift and I just thought, “Oh what the heck. I’ll just buy my wallet on the next payday.”

After walking for several hours, our arms suddenly got occupied by plastic bags full of gifts. We were so tired that we had to sit down in front of a restaurant. Then she suddenly blurted out.. “Honey, I’m hungry.” I was like, “Hey, haven’t you had enough food already!?” Oh well, let’s get seated. I ordered Salisbury steak for both of us. It was a good heavy meal actually but after walking for such a long time, I felt as though I’m still hungry. I said to myself, “Oh no you don’t! Don’t even think about ordering another rice, fatso.” I had to drag my fat butt out of that restaurant before I get to order something that would waste my money and increase my waistline.

We finally got home at around 7PM. After a nice petite dinner, we started wrapping those gifts inside our room. It was funny how we enjoyed wrapping gifts and naming them one by one. We were like kids teasing and laughing and tickling each other.

After wrapping those gifts we lay down to call it a day. As I moved my head, I saw the pile of gifts that we just wrapped and I caught sight of my wallet. Suddenly I realized that giving is way too much better than receiving. Throughout the year I always thought of myself first before the sake of others. I just realized that I never thought of myself that day. And man, that felt so good.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.